What cd decks+everything do I buy?

I-Spy

I want to buy a couple of CD decks some speakers, an amp and a mixer.
Basicly just to have fun on and learn and maybe to use for a few smallish parties at the house.
Without going into crazy money, what do I buy and where is the best place to buy it?
I've heard of the CDJ 800, but would I be OK with the CDJ 400...bearing in mind I'm a total beginner.
Do I get a seperate amp or do they come inside the speakers?
I am OK buying in the UK if it's going to be cheaper as I can have them sent down.
Thanks for any pointers as I am clueless.

Must admit I would like to know most of the above too for the same reasons.

Shall we browse the summer Argos catalogue together???;)

I own 2 X CD800's and I would never get anything less. The newwer mark even plays Mp3's and is perfect for the beginner as it does not take long to figure them out.

Never used the 400's so can't comment on them but you can't go wrong with the 800's 8)

the 400 has better pitch control and a few other features. i've got 800s but if i had to choose between 400, 800 or 1000s now id probably get the 400 tbh. that said, the 800 has the same jog platter as the 1000 so you'll find yourself more at home switching between 800's and 1000's. i dont really notice the difference in pitch control.

if you have the money, definitely go with pioneer.

as for mixers, check ebay. get some good deals on there. you can pick up a 2nd hand vestax pcv-275 for about £120.

Is there much that can go wrong with mixers...I mean, if I buy of E Bay.
What about speakers and amps?