plumbing in spain

gizmo666

folks i'm a plumber thinking about the move
question is how different is the plumbing in spain compared to the uk?

i know next to nothing about plumbing, but i'll take a shot in the dark that it would be pretty much the same!!

a pipe is a pipe isn't it?

not much, no need to lag, no fiber glass loft insulation, lot`s of cal so related problems with water pump`s , some areas boiler needs changing every approx 3 yr`s , materials much the same, easy to get, Building`s, stone or concrete / clay block, stone mainly surface then out through the wall to black poly, Newer concrete / clay and expensive stone, everything buried,
any more info please ask
Have a good one
Tim

a pipe is a pipe isn't it?

But is it MDPE, lead or copper? Is the service coming from a main that's MDPE, cast iron or ductile iron? Socket and spigot or butt-fused? Pushfit on the smaller stuff? Are there water byelaws like here so you need non-return valves?

:p

not sure on the wet side of things but on the sparky side I have noticed they do not use T&E but singles, it`s not an RCD it`s a Diff, there is a lot of 3ph and very little pme, most things are DP breaker-ed, the little green and yellow wire if it is there, is just for decoration,
The only by-law that seem`s to exist is, "as long as it works when you leave the job , that will do"
Have a good one
Tim

From a consumers point of view, I must say I'm much more confident about releasing some African hostages in UK toilets. I can never trust continental loo's the same.

Thoughts turn to the horror shows at the villa party *shudders*.

Though on the flip side, I suppose the ones in Space are pretty damn solid. Maybe I'm just being sanitationally xenophobic?! :lol:

worked in malia as a plumber and i loved it ran out of visa so i had to go lol.as for the spanish side of things waste pipe is smaller,boilers run on lpg bottles and pipe diameter is metric not imperial.