Muswell Hill

MiniMarc

Doeas anyone have any experience of this area of north london? Particularly the property side of things and also how easy it is to get about etc.

Bit of a weird situation that has come up but I may have an opportunity to aquire a fairly run down 1 bedroom flat there from my Uncle in an elaborate inheritance / tax avoidance deal . Im going to see it later but need to make a decision by friday as to weather its a project Id take on as somewhere to do up and live or as an investment to sell / BTL.
Baring in mind I have zero experience with anything like this and the whole place needs a complete refit , It doesnt have central heating at the moment!

Very Jewish (rich) area, so if you done it up it could be a good rental investment. Or if you wanted to live there it's in zone 2 (I think?) so pretty close to London. I drive through that area of North London all the time and it's a nice area. Lots of parks, good transport links etc. I'd live there!

Cheers , and btw the tax avaidance thing is nothing illegal , my uncle used to be a tax man and is totally scared of doing anything like that , its more using the existing system to your advantage. It seems you cant own a property and pass it down these days without giving half of it away to tax :evil:

Muswell Hill is very sought after property-wise. Main negative issue is that there isn't a tube station. Nearest one is Highate, which is a long walk or a busy bus ride away.

It's very yummy mummy/young professional round there these days - renting out not a problem.

The best advert for the area, of course, is that when I escaped the mean streets of Edmonton, growing up there made me the man I am today!:lol:

Also, where in Muswell Hill is it? Some properties with Muswell Hill addresses are so far down Colney Hatch Lane they are nearer to Finchley!

Its Alexandra Gardens N10. Any idea of transport times from around there or how long to walk to a tube? I gather theres lots of hills