Any boxers?

Londoner

Does/has anyone on here box(ed)?

I'm looking to get into boxing (now 24), with a view to learn the techniques and skills, as well as brush up on my conditioning work. As a personal trainer I do enough strength work in my own time, and thought it would add another dimension to my training skills if I took up boxing.

If, God fordbid I had any talent, I wouldn't mind eventually stepping in the ring (that's a big IF).

What will I get out of it? Is it worth it?

There isn't many sports I haven't tried at some point and I would say proper boxing training in a boxing club was THE most physically intense thing I've ever done. They properly beast you.

Aye it is "something else" no matter how fit you are/feel. Really strange getting in to the ring to spar the first time, and how much energy it actually takes is incredible but when you get used to it it's a buzz like no other I've ever felt when knocking lumps out of each other :lol:
I ended up with a broken rib and work hasn't allowed me to get back in to it properly since because of the times my club train :( I lost over 2 stone in 3 months and was fit as I've ever been when I was training 3 times a week. I say go for it, if only for the experience. Wish I didn't have weak ribs I would of happily gone in to an amateur bout with the right amount of training.
I would say though, look at a few gyms first and find one you think you would fit in nicely with before training at one. Can be some right nob heads who just like knocking lumps out of people and you don't wanna get in the ring with them trust me :D