Any advice on driving to Ibiza?

OllieNotts

I just want to price up the cost and time involved with driving with the lads next year. I wanna see that dat villa from the boat as we come into port 8)
We are leaving Nottingham, and I am not very good at these things so a point in the right direction would be good. I assume a ferry to spain somewhere, drive to Barca and then ferry from there to Ibiza town and an opposite for the return leg.
Anyone done it? How long? Was it worth it or was there big regret on the last day after a week or two of being "on it" :)

Like you've correctly stated drive down to Portsmouth and take the ferry crossing to Santander & once your in Spain drive over to Barcelona for the Ibiza ferry. For your return trip why not drive over the Pyrénées into France then up the autoroute to the best ferry port location for your home destination St Malo, Dieppe, Boulogne or Calais.

Pricing such a trip is difficult given that Petrol and toll prices will no doubt be much higher in 2012 than now.

Nott's - Portsmouth 26.26 euros approx
Santander - Barcelona 100 euros approx
Barcelona - St Malo 183 approx
Barcelona - Calais 210 euros approx

Above calculations taken from the Michelin Route Planner website and ofcourse are 2010 prices including any autoroute toll charges and does not include any ferry crossings.

thought denia would be better to get ferry.not so far to drive through spain.shortest route.ferry to france.rac route map it.you need to drivers.lots of stop offs.plenty of change for toll roads.book your ferry well in advance.give your self plenty of time.

Cheers, when I mentioned this on sat in the pub one of my mates said 'drive it' in a right wingy voice meaning he's not keen. And he's mardy to so if I have a price and time scale it might help me convince him. Another option would be fly to Barca, hire car, ferry to Ibiza and leave the car in Ibiza? Fly home from there might stop him moaning then.